Status: checked against official sources; automated independent review

New to CIBC Aventura Rewards? Start here: cards and transfers

PROGRAMME PROFILE

CIBC Aventura Rewards

CIBC Aventura is the travel points programme attached to CIBC's Aventura-branded Visa cards: a family of eight cards, personal and business, that earn Aventura points on eligible spending and on travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre (CIBC by Expedia). [4] CIBC describes Aventura as "our most flexible travel rewards program" in its card listings. [4]

Facts checked: 18 October 2026

Key takeaways

  • CIBC's card list groups eight cards under the Aventura reward partner, from a no-annual-fee Aventura Visa to the $499 Aventura Visa Infinite Privilege. [4]
  • The richest earning rate listed is 3 points per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre, and only the Visa Infinite Privilege carries it. [4]
  • Each card's top travel rate is tied to travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre (CIBC by Expedia): 2 points per $1 on the Aventura Visa Infinite, Aventura Gold Visa and both business cards, 3 points per $1 on the Infinite Privilege, and 1 point per $1 on the no-fee, student and U.S. Dollar cards. The two business cards also list a separate 1.5-point tier that names flights, hotels and other travel (Aventura Visa for Business) and travel purchases (Business Plus), without stating which booking channel qualifies. [4]
  • Transfers between Aventura accounts appear only on the two business cards; airline or hotel transfer partners, redemption rates and points expiry are not stated in the CIBC listing checked. [4]

The eight Aventura cards

Annual fees and earn rates below are as listed by CIBC for each card; the "eligible" qualifier is CIBC's own. [4]

  • CIBC Aventura Visa Infinite — $139 a year; 2 points per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre and 1.5 points per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging, grocery and drugstore purchases; lounge access, a NEXUS application fee rebate and Visa concierge service are listed as benefits. [4]
  • CIBC Aventura Visa Infinite Privilege — $499 a year; 3 points per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre and 2 points per $1 on eligible dining, transportation, gas, electric vehicle charging and groceries; an annual travel credit, lounge access and a NEXUS fee rebate are listed. [4]
  • CIBC Aventura Gold Visa — $139 a year; 2 points per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre and 1.5 points per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging, grocery and drugstore purchases; lounge access and a NEXUS fee rebate are listed. [4]
  • CIBC Aventura Visa — $0 annual fee; 1 point per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre and 1 point per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging, grocery and drugstore purchases, with booking assistance on offer. [4]
  • CIBC Aventura Visa for Students — $0 annual fee, earning at the same 1 point per $1 rates as the standard Aventura Visa, with an SPC+ membership and CIBC Pace It installment plans listed. [4]
  • CIBC U.S. Dollar Aventura Gold Visa — a $35 U.S. annual fee, 1 point per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre, 1 point for every $2 spent on all other purchases, and no currency conversion fees on U.S. dollar purchases. [4]
  • CIBC Aventura Visa for Business — $139 a year; 2 points per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre and 1.5 points per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging, flights, hotels and other travel; the card can transfer Aventura points between accounts. [4]
  • CIBC Aventura Visa for Business Plus — $139 a year; 2 points per $1 on eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre and 1.5 points per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging and travel purchases, with the same account-to-account points transfer; the listing offers a number to call about the card rather than an online application link. [4]

Each listing also carries a promotional welcome offer with its own footnote conditions, ranging from additional Aventura points on the no-fee cards to offers described in dollar value on the higher-fee cards. [4]

How points are earned

Aventura earning is described card by card rather than as one programme-wide schedule: each listing pairs a top rate for eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre (CIBC by Expedia) with a lower rate for a defined set of other purchases. [4] The top travel rate is 2 points per $1 on the Aventura Visa Infinite, the Aventura Gold Visa and both business cards, 3 points per $1 on the Aventura Visa Infinite Privilege, and 1 point per $1 on the no-fee Aventura Visa, the Aventura Visa for Students and the U.S. Dollar Aventura Gold. [4]

The personal cards' second tier covers everyday categories. The Aventura Visa Infinite and the Aventura Gold Visa list 1.5 points per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging, grocery and drugstore purchases, while the no-fee Aventura Visa and the Aventura Visa for Students list 1 point per $1 on those same categories. [4] The Aventura Visa Infinite Privilege instead lists 2 points per $1 on eligible dining, transportation, gas, electric vehicle charging and groceries. [4]

The two business cards use a different second tier. The Aventura Visa for Business lists 1.5 points per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging, flights, hotels and other travel, and the Business Plus lists 1.5 points per $1 on eligible gas, electric vehicle charging and travel purchases. [4] Grocery and drugstore spending appears in a 1.5-point tier only on the Aventura Visa Infinite and the Aventura Gold Visa; on the business cards it is not listed. [4]

For purchases outside the categories a card lists, seven of the eight listings state no rate; only the U.S. Dollar Aventura Gold gives one, at 1 point for every $2 spent on all other purchases. [4] The highest travel rate on every card is the one tied to travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre. [4] The two business cards also list 1.5 points per $1 on flights, hotels and other travel (Aventura Visa for Business) and on travel purchases (Business Plus); CIBC lists those categories without saying whether the purchase must be made through the CIBC Rewards Centre, so the individual card terms would be needed to confirm that. [4]

Redemption and transfers

Aventura points are presented as a travel currency, and CIBC's card tools include an Aventura Points Flight Finder alongside its rewards calculator. [4] The CIBC Rewards Centre (CIBC by Expedia) is the channel the listings name for both the top travel rate and travel booking. [4]

On transfers, the listings state only that the Aventura Visa for Business and the Business Plus card can transfer Aventura points between accounts. [4] Transfer to airline or hotel loyalty programmes, the redemption schedule, any minimum redemption and points expiry are not stated in the CIBC listing checked, so no figure or partner is given here; see the Aventura travel redemption guide and the transfer points checklist for the questions to ask before moving points. [4]

Exceptions and limits

  • The top travel rate is channel-specific. The 2-point rate on the Aventura Visa Infinite, Aventura Gold Visa and both business cards, and the 3-point rate on the Infinite Privilege, apply to eligible travel booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre (CIBC by Expedia). The two business cards separately list a 1.5-point tier on flights, hotels and other travel (Aventura Visa for Business) or travel purchases (Business Plus); CIBC does not state whether those purchases must be booked through the CIBC Rewards Centre. [4]
  • "Eligible" spending is not itemised. The card listings describe purchases as eligible but do not publish category exclusions, so the exclusions must be read from the individual card's terms. [4]
  • The U.S. dollar card works differently. Its annual fee is quoted in U.S. dollars at $35, it earns 1 point per $2 on all other purchases, and it waives currency conversion fees on U.S. dollar purchases; CIBC's listing does not say whether its points pool with the Canadian-dollar cards. [4]
  • Fees and interest differ by card. Annual fees run from $0 to $499, and for the two business cards the listing shows a 20.99% purchase interest rate and a 22.99% cash interest rate; the consumer listings carry separate purchase and cash rate fields, with different notes for Quebec and non-Quebec residents. [4]
  • Benefits sit on individual cards, not on the programme. Lounge access, the NEXUS application fee rebate, the annual travel credit, Visa concierge service and the SPC+ membership each appear on specific Aventura cards only, and none is described as a programme-wide entitlement. [4]
  • Not covered here. Points expiry, insurance coverage, income or eligibility requirements, welcome-offer end dates and any airline or hotel transfer ratio are not stated in the CIBC listing checked. [4]

Sources

Sources checked on 18 October 2026. It covers CIBC Aventura cards listed on CIBC's Canadian site only; CIBC Aeroplan cards and other Canadian bank programmes are not covered here.

  1. CIBC, current list of all CIBC credit cards, checked 18 October 2026

CIBC Aventura Rewards on Flyerfolio

Every page about CIBC Aventura Rewards, grouped by what you want to do.