Verification: Published with cited facts
- Source status
- 1 source listed, read 18 October 2026
- Fact check
- Key facts compared with the sources (92 citations in the text), 18 October 2026
- Model review
- Independent automated review against the saved sources
- Public status
- Published with cited facts
Part of Miles&Smiles hub
GUIDE
Turkish Airlines lounge access rules at Istanbul Airport
At Istanbul Airport, the International Passenger Lounges are one lounge area made up of two sections: the Turkish Airlines Lounge Business and the Turkish Airlines Lounge Miles&Smiles. [1] Business Class passengers can enter the Turkish Airlines Lounge Business regardless of card type, while Miles&Smiles Elite Plus, Elite, Miles&Smiles Elite Corporate, SAG, PLM, CORP and Miles&Smiles U.S. Credit Card holders can enter the Lounge Miles&Smiles section under the guest rules in the usage tables. [1] Paid CIP access is set out in a separate fee schedule with two blocks: the DOMESTIC FLIGHTS CIP LOUNGE block prints 3.000 TL for a Classic Card Holder Passenger at Istanbul Airport, while the international CIP lounge columns print 50 USD at Vnukovo, Narita and Miami and 40 GBP at Edinburgh, and the schedule lists free entry for several cardholder categories. [1]
Facts checked: 18 October 2026
Key takeaways
- The Istanbul Airport International Passenger Lounges are one lounge area with two sections, the Turkish Airlines Lounge Business and the Turkish Airlines Lounge Miles&Smiles; the page says only Business Class passengers can enter the Lounge Business. [1]
- In the Lounge Business table, Turkish Airlines Business Class and Star Alliance member airline Business Class have no guest right, while Star Alliance member airline First Class has a guest. [1]
- In the Lounge Miles&Smiles table, Miles&Smiles Elite Plus, Elite and Miles&Smiles Elite Corporate have a family or a guest right; the table defines family as the spouse travelling with the passenger who has the right to use the lounge and children under 25, and they must enter with that passenger; SAG, PLM and CORP have a guest right; Miles&Smiles U.S. Credit Card has none. [1]
- Star Alliance member airline Elite Plus, Elite, M&S EC, SAG and PLM cardholders are listed with a guest right in the Lounge Miles&Smiles table. [1]
- The paid fee schedule has two blocks: in the DOMESTIC FLIGHTS CIP LOUNGE block the Istanbul Airport column prints 3.000 TL for a Classic Card Holder Passenger, and the international CIP lounge columns print 50 USD at Vnukovo, Narita and Miami and 40 GBP at Edinburgh. [1]
- The paid-use fee schedule's domestic CIP lounge schedule, as printed, lists free entry for Classic Plus cardholder passengers, but Classic Plus cardholders are entitled to domestic lounge access for themselves, not for guests, and for Elite/Elite Plus/Corporate Club/PLM/SAG/M&S Elite Corporate cardholder passengers; Corporate Club holders are eligible only if they are travelling on the same ticket from an international destination to a domestic destination or from a domestic destination to an international destination, as the schedule's footnote states. [1]
- M&S US Credit Card holders are listed as free of charge, excluding the CIP lounge at Diyarbakır Airports. [1]
- Entry for purchased Istanbul Airport Domestic CIP access is no earlier than 4 hours before the flight when Istanbul is the departure point, and within 6 hours before the flight when Istanbul is not the departure point; the service may be suspended in peak periods. [1]
What you can do after reading this guide
- Decide whether your ticket or card opens the Lounge Business section or the Lounge Miles&Smiles section at Istanbul Airport. [1]
- Count the family or guest right for your exact Miles&Smiles or Star Alliance member airline row. [1]
- Check which block of the paid fee schedule applies — the 3.000 TL Istanbul Airport figure sits in the DOMESTIC FLIGHTS CIP LOUNGE block — and the membership step for non-Miles&Smiles members. [1]
- Apply the child charges, entry window and charter-flight exclusion before you travel. [1]
Who this applies to and what you need first
This guide covers the Turkish Airlines lounge terms published for the Global /en-int market at Istanbul Airport: the international terminal’s Turkish Airlines Lounge Business and Turkish Airlines Lounge Miles&Smiles sections, and the paid CIP fee schedule with its Istanbul Airport column. [1] It does not cover Turkish Airlines lounges at other airports except where a rule in the cited terms names them, and it does not cover card welcome offers, card annual fees or promotions. [1]
For the international terminal, the table rows turn on the airline listed (Turkish Airlines or a Star Alliance member airline), the cabin (Business, First or Economy), and the passenger’s card type. [1] Paid CIP access requires a passenger travelling on a Turkish Airlines flight and, for a non-Miles&Smiles member, completion of the online membership form and creation of a digital card before entry for a fee. [1] Passengers travelling on a charter flight are not entitled to lounge access even with a Business Class ticket or status card, unless the travel agency that arranged the charter flight purchases CIP lounge access for them. [1]
How do you work out which Istanbul Airport lounge you can use?
- Identify the airline on your ticket as Turkish Airlines or a Star Alliance member airline, because the usage tables list those airlines separately. [1]
- Identify your cabin: Business Class passengers can enter the Turkish Airlines Lounge Business regardless of card type. [1]
- If you are not entering on Business Class, match your card type to the Lounge Miles&Smiles table: Miles&Smiles Elite Plus, Elite, M&S EC, SAG, PLM, CORP or M&S US Credit Card are listed there. [1]
- Read the guest or family column for your exact row rather than applying one guest rule to all statuses. [1]
- If you are paying, note which block of the fee schedule applies — the DOMESTIC FLIGHTS CIP LOUNGE block prints 3.000 TL for a Classic Card Holder Passenger at Istanbul Airport, while the international CIP lounge columns print 50 USD at Vnukovo, Narita and Miami and 40 GBP at Edinburgh — then find the cardholder row that applies and check the membership requirement for non-Miles&Smiles members. [1]
- Check the entry window for purchased Istanbul Airport Domestic CIP access: no earlier than 4 hours before the flight if Istanbul is the departure point, and within 6 hours before the flight if Istanbul is not. [1]
- Check the exclusions: charter flights need agency-purchased CIP access, and AJet passengers cannot enter as guests of Turkish Airlines passengers. [1]
Who can enter, on which flights, and with how many guests
| Access route | Who qualifies | Eligible flights or lounges | Guest allowance | Stated fee or limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Turkish Airlines Business Class | Business Class passenger, regardless of card type [1] | Turkish Airlines Lounge Business section [1] | None for TK Business in the Business-lounge table [1] | Fee not stated; Business Class passengers with the appropriate card type may bring a guest into the Lounge Miles&Smiles section [1] |
| Star Alliance member airline Business or First Class | Star Alliance member airline Business Class or First Class [1] | Turkish Airlines Lounge Business section [1] | None for Business; guest for First [1] | Fee not stated; the page also says only Business Class passengers can enter the Lounge Business [1] |
| Miles&Smiles Elite Plus or Elite | Miles&Smiles Elite Plus (ELPL) or Elite [1] | Lounge Miles&Smiles section; Economy or Business [1] | Family or a guest (family is the spouse travelling with the lounge-right holder and children under 25, who must enter with the holder) [1] | Free in the domestic CIP lounge fee schedule as printed, which lists Elite/Elite Plus/Corporate Club/PLM/SAG/M&S Elite Corporate cardholder passengers; that schedule is for the domestic/CIP lounges as printed [1] |
| Miles&Smiles Elite Corporate | Miles&Smiles Elite Corporate (M&S EC) [1] | Lounge Miles&Smiles section [1] | Family or a guest (family is the spouse travelling with the lounge-right holder and children under 25, who must enter with the holder) [1] | Free in the domestic CIP lounge fee schedule as printed, which lists Elite/Elite Plus/Corporate Club/PLM/SAG/M&S Elite Corporate cardholder passengers; that schedule is for the domestic/CIP lounges as printed [1] |
| SAG, PLM or CORP | SAG, PLM or CORP cardholder [1] | Lounge Miles&Smiles section [1] | Guest [1] | Free in the domestic CIP lounge fee schedule as printed, which lists Corporate Club, PLM and SAG in the free row; for Corporate Club, the schedule's footnote requires same-ticket travel from an international destination to a domestic destination or from a domestic destination to an international destination; that schedule is for the domestic/CIP lounges as printed [1] |
| Miles&Smiles U.S. Credit Card | Miles&Smiles U.S. Credit Card holder [1] | Lounge Miles&Smiles section [1] | None [1] | Fee not stated; membership must be matched with the credit card for free access [1] |
| Star Alliance member airline status | Star Alliance member airline ELPL, Elite, M&S EC, SAG or PLM [1] | Lounge Miles&Smiles section [1] | Guest [1] | The paid-use fee schedule prints “Free” for Elite/Elite Plus/Corporate Club/PLM/SAG/M&S Elite Corporate cardholder passengers in the domestic CIP lounge schedule as printed; it does not print a separate Star Alliance member airline status price [1] |
| Paid access, Miles&Smiles Classic | Miles&Smiles Classic Card Holder Passenger paying the full fee [1] | CIP lounge; DOMESTIC FLIGHTS CIP LOUNGE block, Istanbul Airport column [1] | No guest entitlement [1] | 3.000 TL in the domestic block; the international CIP lounge columns print 50 USD at Vnukovo, Narita and Miami and 40 GBP at Edinburgh [1]; entry no earlier than 4 hours before the flight if Istanbul is the departure point, and within 6 hours before the flight if Istanbul is not [1] |
| Paid access, non-Miles&Smiles member | Non-Miles&Smiles member [1] | Lounge for a fee [1] | Not stated [1] | Online membership form and digital card required [1]; a separate non-member price is not printed on the cited page [1] |
Worked example (illustration)
Illustration only: you are a Miles&Smiles Classic Card Holder Passenger departing Istanbul Airport and you buy access to the Istanbul Airport Domestic CIP Lounge. [1] In the DOMESTIC FLIGHTS CIP LOUNGE block of the fee schedule, the Istanbul Airport column prints 3.000 TL for that cardholder category; the international CIP lounge columns in the same schedule print 50 USD at Vnukovo, Narita and Miami and 40 GBP at Edinburgh. [1] You may enter the Istanbul Airport Domestic CIP Lounge no earlier than 4 hours before your flight because Istanbul is your departure point. [1] If you pay the full fee, no fee is charged for child passengers aged 0–6 who are family members; children aged 7–12 who are family members are charged 50% of the fee listed in the table; non-family child passengers aged 3–12 are charged the full fee; there is no guest entitlement. [1] The fee schedule is stated to be valid from June 1, 2026 to December 31, 2026. [1]
Common reasons it fails
- You are on a charter flight. Charter-flight passengers are not entitled to lounge access even with a Business Class ticket or status card, unless the travel agency that arranged the charter flight purchases CIP lounge access. [1]
- You are an AJet passenger invited by a Turkish Airlines passenger. AJet passengers cannot enter the lounge as guests of Turkish Airlines passengers. [1]
- You hold a status card but are not in Business Class and expect the Lounge Business. The page says only Business Class passengers can enter the Turkish Airlines Lounge Business. [1]
- You hold a Miles&Smiles U.S. Credit Card and bring a guest. That card type is listed with no family member or guest privileges, and all accompanying passengers are charged the full fee. [1]
- You are a Miles&Smiles Classic cardholder paying the full fee and bring a guest. The terms state there is no guest entitlement for that paid route. [1]
- You are a non-Miles&Smiles member without a digital card. Non-members must complete the online membership form and create a digital card to be eligible to enter the lounge for a fee. [1]
Exceptions and limits
- The fee schedule is time-limited. The paid-use fee schedule is stated to be valid from June 1, 2026 to December 31, 2026. [1]
- Infants and children have separate charges. No fee is charged for infants aged 0–2 years; for Miles&Smiles Classic cardholders paying the full fee, child passengers aged 0–6 who are family members are free, children aged 7–12 who are family members are charged 50% of the listed fee, and non-family child passengers aged 3–12 are charged the full fee. [1]
- Elite Plus and Elite bring children or one guest. Miles&Smiles Elite Plus or Elite cardholders may bring their children or one guest; the full fee applies to child passengers who are not family members; if the cardholder is not travelling with family, the first non-family child passenger is considered a guest, and the full fee applies to additional guests or child passengers. [1]
- Classic Plus and M&S Elite Corporate have their own limits. Classic Plus cardholders have domestic lounge access for themselves but not guests; M&S Elite Corporate cardholders may use Turkish Airlines Lounge-branded CIP lounges free of charge and bring only family members or one guest. [1]
- CORP access is geographically limited. CORP cardholders can receive services only from the CIP lounge belonging to the partnership in the country indicated on the card, as well as from international lounges in Türkiye; a CORP card issued in Türkiye is limited to CIP lounges in Türkiye. [1]
- Refunds and suspensions apply. Refunds may be issued for reasons beyond the passenger’s control and operational issues, but not if the lounge is used, with exceptions if the lounge was used due to a flight cancellation; the service may be suspended during peak periods such as official holidays and the days before and after holidays. [1]
Frequently asked questions
Can I bring a guest into the Turkish Airlines Lounge Business with a Business Class ticket?
The Business-lounge table prints no guest right for Turkish Airlines Business Class or Star Alliance member airline Business Class, and a guest for Star Alliance member airline First Class. [1] The same page also says only Business Class passengers can enter the Turkish Airlines Lounge Business. [1]
Can I pay for lounge access at Istanbul Airport if I am not a Miles&Smiles member?
Non-Miles&Smiles members must complete the online membership form and create a digital card to be eligible to enter the lounge for a fee. [1] In the fee schedule, the 3.000 TL Istanbul Airport figure for a Classic Card Holder Passenger sits in the DOMESTIC FLIGHTS CIP LOUNGE block, while the international CIP lounge columns print 50 USD at Vnukovo, Narita and Miami and 40 GBP at Edinburgh; a separate non-member price is not printed on the cited page. [1]
Do children pay for paid CIP access?
No fee is charged for infants aged 0–2 years. [1] For Miles&Smiles Classic cardholders paying the full fee, family child passengers aged 0–6 are free, family child passengers aged 7–12 are charged 50% of the listed fee, and non-family child passengers aged 3–12 are charged the full fee. [1] Miles&Smiles Elite Plus or Elite cardholders may bring their children or one guest, with the full fee applying to non-family child passengers. [1]
Next step and official entry points
- Turkish Airlines: Lounge terms and conditions — the full usage tables and the paid CIP fee schedule, including the Istanbul Airport column. [1]
- Turkish Airlines lounge programme — the programme hub for the broader lounge picture and related rules. [1]
- Lounge guest policy — the related rules page for guest and family wording. [1]
Sources
Sources checked on 18 October 2026. This guide covers the Turkish Airlines lounge terms for Istanbul Airport in the Global /en-int pages, including the International Passenger Lounges' Business and Miles&Smiles sections, guest rights, the paid CIP fee schedule and stated time limits. It does not cover lounges at other airports except where the fee schedule or exclusions are quoted, and it does not cover card welcome offers, card annual fees or promotions.
- Turkish Airlines: Lounge terms and conditions, checked 18 October 2026