Status: checked against official sources; automated independent review

GUIDE

How to earn Asia Miles from credit cards

Earning Asia Miles from credit cards covers two different mechanics: a card that credits Asia Miles directly for spending, and a card that earns a bank's own reward currency which the cardholder then redeems for miles. HSBC Hong Kong advertises a card earning miles at a rate as low as HKD2 = 1 mile and lets cardholders redeem RewardCash for miles among other options [4], while Cathay's Asia Miles pages describe earning through more than 800 travel and lifestyle partners and set the rules that keep miles alive [1].

Facts checked: 18 October 2026

Key takeaways

  • Direct-earn cards and bank reward currencies are separate routes: HSBC Hong Kong advertises the EveryMile card at a spend rate as low as HKD2 = 1 mile, and separately describes RewardCash as a currency that can be redeemed for miles, cash vouchers, gifts and more [4].
  • Cathay's Asia Miles page describes earning with more than 800 travel and lifestyle partners across flights, hotels, shopping, dining and wellness; it does not set bank transfer terms [1].
  • On the Cathay side, the page states that as long as a member is earning miles regularly, Asia Miles never expire [1].

Two ways a card credits miles

Direct earn. Some cards are sold on the miles they credit for spending. HSBC Hong Kong presents its EveryMile Credit Card with the line that cardholders "earn unlimited miles at a rate as low as HKD2 = 1 mile", alongside travel perks, and applies terms and conditions to the offer [4]. The wording describes the floor of the published rate rather than a single flat rate, and the card's terms carry the detail [4].

Bank currency first. Other cards build a balance in the issuer's own reward unit, which the cardholder then chooses how to spend. HSBC says RewardCash can be redeemed in a range of ways, including offsetting purchase transactions, redeeming miles, cash vouchers and gifts, and its offers menu includes a separate Mileage Programme [4]. What the page does not give is the RewardCash-to-Asia-Miles ratio, the smallest amount that can be converted, any conversion fee or how long a conversion takes, so none of those can be calculated from it [4]. The general mechanics of these steps are covered under transfer ratio, minimum transfer and points conversion fee.

What Cathay publishes. Cathay's own page is written from the programme side: it lists ways to earn and spend, shows hotel conversions such as Dorsett Hotels at a rate stated as "1 Point = 10" and a newly launched two-way Marriott Bonvoy conversion, and points members to purchase or gift miles to top up a balance [1]. Those are hotel-loyalty and programme-level routes, not bank card conversions, and the page does not set out a bank-points ratio for any market [1].

Hong Kong: HSBC's mileage card

HSBC's Hong Kong card site treats miles as one reward stream among several. Its EveryMile card is the miles proposition, advertised at HKD2 = 1 mile as the lowest rate and with a welcome offer of up to $1,450 RewardCash or 29,000 miles, both subject to terms and conditions [4]. The same page presents other cards on rebate terms instead, such as up to 8% RewardCash at designated merchants and up to 4% for online spending on the Red card, or up to 3.6% RewardCash in designated spending categories on the Visa Signature card [4]. Those figures are reward rates on spending, not stated Asia Miles conversion rates [4].

For a cardholder planning a transfer, the Hong Kong page answers the "which card" question and not the "what will my points become" question: it names the Mileage Programme and the miles redemption option for RewardCash, but publishes no ratio, no minimum block, no fee and no timeline for a RewardCash balance turned into Asia Miles [4]. The card-level terms and conditions linked from the same site are where those conditions would sit [4].

Singapore, Malaysia and the gaps

DBS Singapore's cards landing page is a product directory: it lists cards including the DBS yuu Card, DBS Chromo Card, DBS Altitude Card and DBS Vantage Card, groups its links under card rewards and card terms and conditions, and offers card FAQs [3]. It does not name Asia Miles, and it states no conversion rate, minimum block, fee or processing time for any airline currency [3]. A reader who wants to know whether a particular DBS card converts into Asia Miles therefore has to work from that card's own terms, which the site links to, rather than from the landing page [3].

Exceptions and limits

  • Headline rates are floors. HSBC advertises miles on the EveryMile card at a rate "as low as" HKD2 = 1 mile and applies terms and conditions, so the advertised figure is the best published case rather than a promise on every transaction [4].
  • Welcome offers are conditional. The offer of up to $1,450 RewardCash or 29,000 miles is stated with terms and conditions attached, and the page does not set out the qualifying period or eligibility rules [4].
  • Miles compete with other uses. Because RewardCash can also offset purchases, buy vouchers or become gifts, a cardholder choosing miles is giving up those alternatives [4].
  • Co-brand benefits are not earn rates. Cathay's page notes that holders of the Cathay World Elite Mastercard receive a 10% discount on miles needed for hotel-stay redemptions on Cathay Holidays, which affects the cost of a redemption rather than the rate at which spending earns [1].
  • Keeping miles alive. Cathay states that Asia Miles never expire as long as the member is earning miles regularly, so a card that generates ongoing earning also serves as activity; the page does not define "regularly" in that sentence [1].
  • Family transfers are narrow. Cathay's complimentary family transfer moves miles from a minor in the member's redemption group to the member's own account, free of transfer and service fees, and is not described as a general transfer facility between any two members [1].
  • Other top-up routes are separate. Buying miles to top up a balance and gifting miles are programme features rather than card conversions, and their prices and limits are not stated on the page [1].

Sources

Sources accessed on 18 October 2026. The three pages below are Cathay's Asia Miles overview and two bank card pages, one from Hong Kong and one from Singapore; no Malaysian issuer page and no individual card terms document is included, so card-specific ratios, minimum blocks, fees and processing times are not described here, and the sections above should be read as a map of what those pages publish rather than a conversion calculator.

  1. Cathay Pacific Asia Miles overview, checked 18 October 2026
  2. DBS Singapore credit and debit cards, checked 18 October 2026
  3. HSBC Hong Kong credit cards, checked 18 October 2026