Status: checked against official sources; automated independent review

Part of Southwest Rapid Rewards hub

GUIDE

How to earn Southwest Rapid Rewards points

Southwest Rapid Rewards is the rewards programme offered by Southwest Airlines Co. for Southwest Airlines customers, and members earn points from qualifying Southwest flights, qualifying purchases with Rapid Rewards partners, and Getaways by Southwest vacation bookings. [7] [6] Points do not expire, and Southwest says reward travel has no blackout dates. [7] [1]

Facts checked: 18 October 2026

Key takeaways

  • Rapid Rewards points come from qualifying Southwest flights, qualifying partner purchases and Getaways by Southwest vacation bookings. [6] [7]
  • On Southwest-operated qualifying flights, earning depends on the base fare, fare product, tier status and payment method. [6] [7]
  • Points do not expire, but closing a Rapid Rewards account forfeits the points in it. [7]
  • Rapid Rewards Credit Card points post within 30 days of the statement closing date. [5] [6]

How do you earn Rapid Rewards points on Southwest flights?

For Southwest-operated qualifying flights, the number of points is calculated after the entire ticket is completed and is based on the final dollar amount paid for the base fare, the fare product and the member's tier status. [7] The payment method is part of the calculation because a Cash + Points booking earns points only on the portion of the base fare paid with dollars. [6] [7] The published base rates below are per dollar of base fare and are shown with the tier bonuses Southwest lists. [6] [7]

Published points per dollar of base fare for Southwest-operated qualifying flights, by fare product and tier, as of 18 October 2026 [6]
Fare productBase memberA-List (25% bonus)A-List Preferred (100% bonus)
Basic22.54
Choice67.512
Choice Preferred1012.520
Choice Extra1417.528

A-List members receive a 25% earning bonus on every qualifying flight, and A-List Preferred members receive a 100% bonus. [6] Southwest also says Choice Extra fares earn seven times the points per dollar per qualifying flight than Basic fares. [6]

Southwest defines qualifying flights as Southwest-operated flights paid with dollars, Southwest LUV Vouchers, gift cards, vacation travel credits, flight credits, or Cash + Points. [6] [7] Reward flights, charter flights, nonrevenue travel, Companion Pass travel, vacation packages booked through online travel agencies, and tickets booked through online travel agencies where the operating carrier is not disclosed before purchase are excluded. [6] [7] Members should provide their Rapid Rewards number when booking or before travel. [7] If they do not, they can request points for past qualifying flights for up to 12 months after the flight on Southwest.com. [7]

Government-imposed taxes and fees, including airport Passenger Facility Charges, federal segment fees and the September 11th Security Fee, do not earn points. [7] For interline transportation, points are based on distance flown and post within eight days after the Southwest-operated segment is flown. [7]

How do you earn Rapid Rewards points with credit cards and partner purchases?

Outside the flight calculation, Southwest lists spending on a Rapid Rewards Credit Card, spending on a Rapid Rewards Debit Card, completing a Getaways by Southwest vacation booking, and staying at hotels and more as earning routes. [6] Rapid Rewards Credit Cards are issued by JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. [5] [6] Points earned with a Rapid Rewards Credit Card post within 30 days of the statement closing date. [5] [6] Southwest says the Rapid Rewards Debit Card earns points on purchases big and small. [1]

Getaways by Southwest vacation bookings accrue points at a set rate multiplied by the total base price of eligible components, excluding taxes, fees, post-pays and optional travel charges. [7] The total is divided as equally as possible among all persons on the booking, excluding lap children. [7] A member must associate their Rapid Rewards number with the booking or request their portion within 12 months after the booking is completed. [7] Any portion not associated with a Rapid Rewards number is forfeited 12 months after completion and is not redistributed. [7] Getaways points count toward tier status but not toward Companion Pass status. [7]

Which Rapid Rewards partners earn points?

Southwest groups its earning partners into credit card, debit card, hotel, car rental, Getaways by Southwest, shop and dine, home and energy, specialty and flight partners. [3] The partner pages describe earning points for booking hotel stays, renting cars, dining out, shopping at partner restaurants and retail spots, paying bills with partner providers, and booking flights on partner airlines. [3] Rapid Rewards Shopping lists more than 1,100 online stores. [1] Southwest says Rapid Rewards points can be earned and redeemed in various ways with car rental partner programmes. [3] Partner transactions are subject to the partners' rules and regulations, including adjustments for returns and cancellations. [7]

Exceptions and limits on earning

  • Only qualifying flights earn points in the flight category; reward flights, charter flights, nonrevenue travel, Companion Pass travel and the online travel agency exclusions do not qualify. [6] [7]
  • Cash + Points bookings earn points only on the dollar-paid portion of the base fare. [6] [7]
  • Purchased, gifted and transferred points do not count toward Tier or Companion Pass status. [5] [6]
  • Closing a Rapid Rewards account forfeits the points in it. [7]
  • Rapid Rewards membership is for individual travelers only, and members may not pool or combine points with other members. [7]
  • Southwest states that a new Rapid Rewards programme starts on 1 January 2027. [1]
  • Rapid Rewards rules apply as published by Southwest, which reserves the right to amend, suspend or change the programme and rules at any time without notice. [7]
  • Monetary amounts and fees in the programme are expressed and processed in U.S. dollars. [7]

Frequently asked questions

Do Rapid Rewards points expire?

No. Southwest says points do not expire, but if a member closes their account, the points in it are forfeited. [1] [7]

How many Rapid Rewards points do you earn on a Southwest flight?

For Southwest-operated qualifying flights, base rates as of 18 October 2026 are 2 points per dollar on Basic, 6 on Choice, 10 on Choice Preferred and 14 on Choice Extra, before tier bonuses; A-List adds 25% and A-List Preferred adds 100%. [6]

Can you earn Rapid Rewards points without flying?

Yes. Southwest lists credit and debit cards, Getaways vacation bookings, hotel stays, car rentals, shopping, dining and other partners as earning sources. [3] [6]

Which flights do not earn Rapid Rewards points?

Reward flights, charter flights, nonrevenue travel, Companion Pass travel, vacation packages booked through online travel agencies and tickets booked through online travel agencies where the operating carrier is not disclosed before purchase are not qualifying flights. [6] [7]

Can you claim points for a past Southwest flight?

Yes. If a member did not provide their Rapid Rewards number, they can request points for past qualifying flights for up to 12 months after the flight on Southwest.com. [7]

Sources

Sources checked on 18 October 2026. This guide covers Southwest Rapid Rewards only; other airline, hotel and credit card programmes are not covered.

  1. Rapid Rewards overview, checked 18 October 2026
  2. Rapid Rewards partners, checked 18 October 2026
  3. How to redeem Rapid Rewards points, checked 18 October 2026
  4. How to earn Rapid Rewards points, checked 18 October 2026
  5. Rapid Rewards terms and conditions, checked 18 October 2026