Status: checked against official sources; automated independent review
New to I Prefer Hotel Rewards? Start here: hotel points
PROGRAMME PROFILE
I Prefer Hotel Rewards — programme profile
I Prefer Hotel Rewards is a hotel loyalty programme that members can join without a fee, earn points on eligible stays, and later redeem for rewards, as described on the programme's own site. [1] The benefits it advertises are grouped under members-only rates and offers, upgrades and amenities, and points for free nights. [1]
Facts checked: 18 October 2026
Key takeaways
- Membership is free, and the programme is presented as three steps: join at no fee, earn points on stays, then redeem for rewards. [1]
- The only earning rate stated on the page checked is promotional: members who register earn double base points on stays from 1 October to 31 December 2026 at more than 700 participating hotels and resorts. [1]
- Membership tiers, standard earn rates, points prices for nights, expiry rules and stay eligibility are not published on the page checked, so this profile does not state them. [1]
What the programme publishes
The official site describes the programme in three steps — no fee to join, earn points, redeem for rewards — and lists three benefit areas: members-only rates and offers, upgrades and amenities, and points for free nights. [1]
The site calls itself "the best loyalty program for unique stays worldwide", which is the programme's own marketing description rather than a measured comparison against other schemes. [1]
The page checked sets out no membership tier structure, no elite qualification criteria and no qualifying-night rules, so readers looking for status mechanics will not find them in this source. [1]
Earning points
Points are described as earned on stays, and the benefits copy refers to "every eligible stay". [1] The page does not define what makes a stay eligible, so which rate plans, booking channels and property types count is not settled by this source. [1]
Double-points offer, 1 October to 31 December 2026. Members who register earn double points on every stay from 1 October through 31 December 2026 at more than 700 participating hotels and resorts; the same offer is headlined as 2x base points on stays through 31 December 2026. [1]
Because the offer doubles "base points", it does not disclose the underlying base earn rate, and the page publishes no standard earn rate per stay or per night. [1] Points are not given a cash value anywhere on the page. [1]
Redeeming points and member benefits
Redemption is described only at the level of "redeem for rewards" and "Points for Free Nights", with the site promising members can "earn your way to more travel with every eligible stay". [1] No award chart, points price per night, minimum redemption, or cap on award nights appears on the page checked. [1]
The other two benefit areas are described without operational detail: members-only rates and offers, and "more benefits to elevate your experience" covering upgrades and amenities. [1] The page does not say which members receive upgrades, what an upgrade consists of, or how amenities differ between properties. [1]
Exceptions and limits
- Registration required. The double-points offer applies to members who register; the page does not say when registration closes, or whether a stay must be booked after registering. [1]
- Time limit. The offer covers stays from 1 October to 31 December 2026 only, so it is a dated promotion rather than a standing earn rate. [1]
- Participating properties only. The offer is limited to more than 700 participating hotels and resorts; the page checked does not list them or state exclusions. [1]
- Undefined terms. The page uses both "every stay" and "every eligible stay" and does not define eligibility, treatment of third-party bookings, taxes and fees, or what happens to points when a stay is cancelled.
- No published status rules. Upgrades and amenities are advertised as benefits, but tiers, qualifying nights and status thresholds are absent from the page checked. [1]
- Property-level variation is not described. Because the page gives no property-specific terms, what an upgrade or amenity actually means at a named hotel is not published in this source. [1]
- Points expiry, transfers and account rules are not addressed on the page checked, so no expiry period or transfer rule is stated here. [1]
Sources
Sources checked on 18 October 2026. Only the programme's own site was read for this profile; other hotel programmes, including Marriott Bonvoy, Hilton Honors, World of Hyatt and IHG One Rewards, are not covered here, and the programme's full terms and conditions were not part of the page checked. [1]
- I Prefer Hotel Rewards official site, checked 18 October 2026
I Prefer Hotel Rewards on Flyerfolio
Every page about I Prefer Hotel Rewards, grouped by what you want to do.
Start here 1
Tools 3
- Points value calculator
- Award vs cash calculatorCompare paying with points and paying cash using your own point value, including points the cash booking earns, and see the break-even value.
- Elite status progress trackerTrack progress to an airline or hotel elite tier with your own targets: amount left, share done, monthly pace needed and whether you are on pace.